Home Browse My Account
Newest Young Adult Book:
The Secret Sky : A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan by Atia Abawi
[book cover]

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love.

But they do, and the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan, as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures, and the Taliban to stay together.

Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America’s War in Afghanistan. Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.


More New Young Adult Fiction:
Ghosting by Edith Pattou
[book cover]

On a hot summer night in a Midwestern town, a high school teenage prank goes horrifically awry.

Alcohol, guns, and a dare: within minutes, as events collide, innocents becomes victims, with tragic outcomes altering lives forever; but victims can also become survivors, and as we come to know each character through his or her own distinctive voice and their interactions with one another, we see how, despite pain and guilt, they can reach out to one another, find a new equilibrium, and survive.

Told through multiple points of view in naturalistic free verse and stream of consciousness, this is an unforgettable, haunting tale.


Older Young Adult Fiction:
2014
2013
2010
2009