Home Browse My Account
Newest Young Adult Book:
Ghosting by Edith Pattou
[book cover]

On a hot summer night in a Midwestern town, a high school teenage prank goes horrifically awry.

Alcohol, guns, and a dare: within minutes, as events collide, innocents becomes victims, with tragic outcomes altering lives forever; but victims can also become survivors, and as we come to know each character through his or her own distinctive voice and their interactions with one another, we see how, despite pain and guilt, they can reach out to one another, find a new equilibrium, and survive.

Told through multiple points of view in naturalistic free verse and stream of consciousness, this is an unforgettable, haunting tale.


More New Young Adult Fiction:
The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson
[book cover]

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom, until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes: someone is killing teenaged girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie's and Pauline's worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss, and by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.

Conversion by Katherine Howe
[book cover]

It's senior year at St. Joan's Academy, and school is a pressure cooker.

College applications, the battle for valedictorian, deciphering boys' texts, ... Through it all, Colleen Rowley and her friends are expected to keep it together. Until they can't.

First it's the school’s queen bee, Clara Rutherford, who suddenly falls into uncontrollable tics in the middle of class. Her mystery illness quickly spreads to her closest clique of friends, then more students and symptoms follow: seizures, hair loss, violent coughing fits. St. Joan's buzzes with rumor; rumor blossoms into full-blown panic.

Soon the media descends on Danvers, Massachusetts, as everyone scrambles to find something, or someone, to blame. Pollution? Stress? Or are the girls faking? Only Colleen, who's been reading The Crucible for extra credit, comes to realize what nobody else has: Danvers was once Salem Village, where another group of girls suffered from a similarly bizarre epidemic three centuries ago...

Inspired by true events, from seventeenth-century colonial life to the halls of a modern-day high school, Conversion casts a spell. With her signature wit and passion, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe delivers an exciting and suspenseful novel, a chilling mystery that raises the question, what's really happening to the girls at St. Joan's?

Divided We Fall by Trent Reedy
[book cover]

Danny Wright never thought he'd be the man to bring down the United States of America.

In fact, he enlisted in the Idaho National Guard because he wanted to serve his country the way his father did. When the Guard is called up on the governor's orders to police a protest in Boise, it seems like a routine crowd-control mission... but then Danny's gun misfires, spooking the other soldiers and the already fractious crowd, and by the time the smoke clears, twelve people are dead.

Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth
[book cover]

Readers first encountered Tobias as Four in Divergent. His voice is an integral part of Allegiant. Readers will find more of this charismatic character's backstory told from his own perspective in Four: A Divergent Collection. When read together, these long narrative pieces illuminate the defining moments in Tobias's life.

The first three pieces in this volume (The Transfer, The Initiate, and The Son) follow Tobias' transfer from Abnegation to Dauntless, his Dauntless initiation, and the first clues that a foul plan is brewing in the leadership of two factions. The fourth story, The Traitor, runs parallel with the events of Divergent, giving readers a glimpse into the decisions of loyalty and love that Tobias makes in the weeks after he meets Tris Prior.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
[book cover]

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia's life follows a preordained course.

As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight (but she doesn't), and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom, to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive, unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets, even as she finds herself falling in love.

V Is for Villain by Peter Moore
[book cover]

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake.

Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew, especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power.

With her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own. When they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. Once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.

Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia
[book cover]

From the world of Beautiful Creatures comes a dangerous new tale of love and magic.

Ridley Duchannes is nobody's heroine. She's a Dark Caster, a Siren. She can make you do things. Anything. You can't trust her, or yourself when she's around; and she'll be the first to tell you to stay away, especially if you're going to do something as stupid as fall in love with her.

Lucky for Ridley, her wannabe rocker boyfriend, Wesley Link Lincoln, never listens to anyone. Link doesn't care if Rid's no good for him, and he takes her along when he leaves small-town Gatlin to follow his rock-star dream. He teams up with a ragtag group of Dark Casters, and when the band scores a gig at a hot Underground club, it looks like all of Link's dreams are about to come true.

New York City is a dangerous place for both Casters and Mortals, and soon Ridley realizes that Link's bandmates are keeping secrets. With bad-boy club owner Lennox Gates on her heels, Rid is determined to find out the truth. What she discovers is worse than she could have imagined: Link has a price on his head that no Caster or Mortal can ever pay. With their lives on the line, what's a Siren to do?


Older Young Adult Fiction:
2014
2013
2010
2009