Home Browse My Account
Newest Young Adult Book:
The Secret Sky : A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan by Atia Abawi
[book cover]

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love.

But they do, and the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan, as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures, and the Taliban to stay together.

Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America’s War in Afghanistan. Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.


More New Young Adult Fiction:
Ghosting by Edith Pattou
[book cover]

On a hot summer night in a Midwestern town, a high school teenage prank goes horrifically awry.

Alcohol, guns, and a dare: within minutes, as events collide, innocents becomes victims, with tragic outcomes altering lives forever; but victims can also become survivors, and as we come to know each character through his or her own distinctive voice and their interactions with one another, we see how, despite pain and guilt, they can reach out to one another, find a new equilibrium, and survive.

Told through multiple points of view in naturalistic free verse and stream of consciousness, this is an unforgettable, haunting tale.

The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson
[book cover]

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom, until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes: someone is killing teenaged girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie's and Pauline's worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss, and by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.

Conversion by Katherine Howe
[book cover]

It's senior year at St. Joan's Academy, and school is a pressure cooker.

College applications, the battle for valedictorian, deciphering boys' texts, ... Through it all, Colleen Rowley and her friends are expected to keep it together. Until they can't.

First it's the school’s queen bee, Clara Rutherford, who suddenly falls into uncontrollable tics in the middle of class. Her mystery illness quickly spreads to her closest clique of friends, then more students and symptoms follow: seizures, hair loss, violent coughing fits. St. Joan's buzzes with rumor; rumor blossoms into full-blown panic.

Soon the media descends on Danvers, Massachusetts, as everyone scrambles to find something, or someone, to blame. Pollution? Stress? Or are the girls faking? Only Colleen, who's been reading The Crucible for extra credit, comes to realize what nobody else has: Danvers was once Salem Village, where another group of girls suffered from a similarly bizarre epidemic three centuries ago...

Inspired by true events, from seventeenth-century colonial life to the halls of a modern-day high school, Conversion casts a spell. With her signature wit and passion, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe delivers an exciting and suspenseful novel, a chilling mystery that raises the question, what's really happening to the girls at St. Joan's?


Older Young Adult Fiction:
2014
2013
2010
2009